Authorities to Start Issuing Passports in 14 Additional Provinces

Afghan officials in the passport department announced Sunday they will begin issuing passports in 14 other provinces on Monday, December 6.

The Killid Group
6 Dec 2021
Authorities to Start Issuing Passports in 14 Additional Provinces
Image via Social Media

Alam Gul Haqqani, acting head of the central passport department, said authorities will resume issuing passports in 14 Afghan provinces, starting from today, December 6.

The provinces include Farah, Nimroz, Badghis, Paktika, Laghman, Kunar, Takhar, Zabul, Urozgan, Jawzjan, Samangan, Baghlan, Bamiyan, and Panjshir provinces.

With this number, the passport issuance services begin in all provinces but Kabul, Helmand and Sare Pul.

The passport chief said the central passport office will resume operations soon once technical issues are resolved.

Earlier the central passport department cited technical issues, including a breakdown hitting biometric machines, as the reason for suspending the department’s operations.

Haqqani also announced the Islamic Emirate’s arrest of as many as 75 people involved in fraud and illegally issuing passports.

The government body to distribute passport has so far issued 25,000 passports since the resumption of operations, he said.

Follow TKG on Twitter & Facebook
Design & Developed by Techsharks - Copyright © 2022

Copyright 2022 © TKG: A public media project of DHSA